Situated in the small village of Eugenia, the Eugenia Falls Conservation Area is one of the most impressive waterfall in the Niagara Escarpment. The waterfall was discovered in 1852 and was named after Princess Eugenie, wife of Napoleon III; a suggestion from ex-soldiers of the French army during the Crimean War. Since its discovery the river has been obstructed various times by one type of mill after the other. Today the river still serves as a hydro-electricity provider.
Excellent views of the falls can be reached just a short walk away from the free parking area. Visitors are to remain on the safe side of the stone wall as the cliffs reach 30 metre in height. For all adventurous souls out there: it is not recommended to go explore the gorge unless willing to climb over slippery rocks, fallen trees and risking all sorts of injuries.
The park include: a parking area just steps from the falls, a pavilion with tables, a war memorial and a small trail system connecting to the Bruce Trail.
The best time to visit Eugenia Fall would be in the spring as the flow of water is a lot heavier. By the month of August it slows to a trickle and resemble a veil. The falls are accessible during every seasons.
—- Share your photos with us #SGeorgianBay —-